

# BURNLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL FULL COUNCIL

## **BURNLEY TOWN HALL**

Wednesday, 14th April, 2021 at 6.30pm
This was a remote meeting held under the provisions of the Coronavirus Act 2020

#### **PRESENT**

#### **MEMBERS**

His Worshipful The Mayor (Councillor Wajid Khan) in the Chair;

Councillors C Towneley (Vice-Chair), A Anwar, H Baker, G Birtwistle, C Briggs, B Brindle, P Campbell, F Cant, S Chaudhary, T Commis, I Emo, D Ferrier, A Fewings, B Foster, P Gill, S Graham, S Hall, J Harbour, A Hosker, S Hussain, M Ishtiaq, A Kelly, T Kennedy, A Khan, L Khan, S Khan, G Lishman, M Lishman, S Lone, T Martin, P McCann, L Mehanna, N Mottershead, A Newhouse, L Pate, E Payne, M Payne, A Raja, D Roper, A Royle, J Sumner, A Tatchell and M Townsend

# **OFFICERS**

Mick Cartledge – Chief Executive

Lukman Patel – Chief Operating Officer

Howard Hamilton-Smith – Head of Finance and Property

Catherine Waudby – Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Chris Gay – Governance Manager
Eric Dickinson – Democracy Officer
Imelda Grady – Democracy Officer
Alison McEwan – Democracy Officer
Mark Hindman – Graphic Designer

## 87 Mayoral Statement and Silence for HRH Price Philip, The Duke of Edinburgh

The Mayor on behalf of the Borough recognized the service given by His Royal Highness Prince Philip, The Duke of Edinburgh, to the country and Members then joined the Mayor in a one-minute silence to remember him.

## 88 Minutes of the Last Meeting

**RESOLVED** The Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on the 24<sup>th</sup> February 2021 were agreed as a correct record.

Full Council 14/04/2021 Page **1** of **3** 

#### 89 Declarations of Interest

The following Members declared a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest on Item 5 (e) regarding the Appointment of Mayor and Deputy Mayor 2021-22, and would then leave the room during the item;

Councillor Cosima Towneley and Councillor Mark Townsend.

# 90 Mayor's Communications

The Mayor announced that the following Members had achieved a Long Service Award after at least 8 years of service to the Council.

Councillors Bill Brindle, Saeed Chaudhary, Marcus Johnstone, Tony Martin,

Andrew Newhouse, and Lian Pate.

The Mayor and Members acknowledged their achievement.

The Mayor and Members also thanked the following retiring Members for their service to the Council;

Councillors Bill Brindle, David Roper, and Andrew Tatchell

Also the Mayor and Members thanked the following Members who are Election Candidates in May 2021 for their service to the Council;

Lubna Kan, Margaret Lishman, Lian Pate, Andrew Newhouse, Saeed Chaudhary, Mark Payne, Alan Hosker, Asif Raja, Arif Khan, Marcus Johnstone, Peter McCann, and Tony Martin.

# 91 Food Safety Delivery Plan (reviewed 2020/21)

With reference to Minute 87 of the Executive (23<sup>rd</sup> March 2021) consideration was given to the Food Safety Delivery Plan (reviewed 2020/21).

#### **RESOLVED**

That approval be given to the Food Safety Delivery Plan (reviewed 2020/21) detailed as Appendix 1 to the report.

## 92 Health and Safety Intervention Plan (reviewed 2020/21)

With reference to Minute 88 of the Executive (23<sup>rd</sup> March 2021) consideration was given to the Health and Safety Intervention Plan (reviewed 2020/21).

#### **RESOLVED**

That approval be given to the Health and Safety Intervention Plan (reviewed 2020/21) detailed at Appendix 1 to the report.

## 93 Extension of Bulky Waste Collection Price Reduction

With reference to Minute 90 of the Executive (23<sup>rd</sup> March 2021) consideration was given to budgetary issues relating to the extension of the bulky waste price reduction.

#### **RESOLVED**

(1) That the carry forward of the unspent waste contingency budget from 2020/21 into the next financial year be approved; and

(2) That it be approved that any shortfall in income during the 6-month trial be met from the unspent waste contingency for 2020/21 and/or Covid Reserve.

# 94 Calendar of Meetings 2021-22

Consideration was given to a Calendar of Meetings for 2021/22.

#### **RESOLVED**

That the Calendar of Meetings 2021/22 as set out in Appendix 1 to the report be approved.

# 95 Appointment of Mayor and Deputy Mayor 2021-22

Councillor Cosima Towneley and Councillor Mark Townsend left the meeting during the item.

Consideration was given to the position relating to the appointment of the Mayor and Chair of the Council and Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of the Council for the Municipal Year 2021/22.

#### **RESOLVED**

That the position on the appointment of Mayor and Chair of the Council and Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of the Council for the Municipal Year 2021/22 be noted.

# 96 Appointments to Independent Remuneration Panel

Consideration was given to the reappointment of Anne Slater and Graham Knott to the Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP).

#### **RESOLVED**

That Anne Slater and Graham Knott be reappointed to the Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP) until July 2024.

## 97 Reports from Committee Chairs

#### **RESOLVED**

That the reports of the Chairs of Scrutiny, Audit & Standards, Licensing and Development Control Committees be noted.

#### 98 Strategic Plan Progress Reports

**RESOLVED** That the Strategic Plan Progress Reports of Executive Members be noted.